Generic Backupify
October 12, 2020
G Suite

Google Workspace To Automatically Delete Trash After 30 Days

Google recently announced that effective October 13, 2020, items in a user’s Google Workspace (formerly G Suite) Trash folder will be permanently deleted after just thirty days. Previously, users’ deleted files were maintained indefinitely and files were only permanently deleted after a user manually emptied their Trash folders.

SaaS vendors like Microsoft and Google offer limited retention policies that simply aren’t sufficient for business data. For enterprise IT departments, it’s crucial to understand what your third-party vendor is responsible for and what they are not. Third-party backup providers are recommended by SaaS vendors due to their lack of comprehensive data backup. Google’s recent shift to permanent deletion after just thirty days is another reason to implement cloud-to-cloud backup for reliable data retention. There are countless scenarios where a deleted file may need to be recovered after a month’s time – from accidental data deletion to disgruntled employees to a cyberattack.

Luckily, enterprise IT departments with a reliable cloud backup solution can restore their permanently deleted data and get them the files they need to run their business. Learn how Backupify can protect your business from data loss by scheduling a demo today.

See Why Backupify Wins SaaS Backup

VIEW MORE